French Guadeloupe - the 'Butterfly Island'

Guadeloupe is an overseas territory of France located in the Leeward Islands of Lesser Antilles. It has a surface area of 1628 square kilometers and 405,739 inhabitants. Sometimes it is fondly  referred to as the ‘Butterfly Island. The island is a vacationer’s haven given its tropical climate, inviting turquoise waters and sandy beaches. For those planning a trip there, here is a list of what to expect in the island.

  1. Guadeloupe is made up of 2 islands, Basse Terre and Grande Terre. The islands are separated by narrow straits and travellers cross over using bridges.
  2. Apart from the two major islands, there are smaller islands including; Marie Galante, Îles des Saintes and Desirade.
  3. Being part of France, its official language is French although the inhabitants also speak Antillean Creole.
  4. The island is part of European Union by right of being a French territory.
  5. The island derives its name from the venerated Virgin Mary (Santa María de Guadalupe) in the Spanish town of Guadalupe in Extremaduara.
  6. During the Pre-Columbian times, the island was named 'Karukera' by the Arawak People. It means 'The Island of beautiful waters'.
  7. Here is a good one. Christopher Columbus discovered the pineapple fruit on the island in 1493 and named it 'piña de Indias' which is translated to mean 'pine cone of the indies'.
  8. The average temperature on the island ranges from 24 to 27 degrees centigrade and is thus a tropical island.
  9. The island has had several hurricanes in modern times, with the last being Hurricane Georges in 1998.
  10. 86 % of the country's population is Roman Catholics.

Guadeloupe is a beautiful sanctum. It is the place to go when you want to rest and rejuvenate.

By Kennedy Runo on 02/20/2015 in Guadeloupe

Start planning your destination wedding in Guadeloupe

Get Started

Get the Wedding Tips

Get The Savvy Traveler Newsletter

Our policy on spam: "None!"